How can I configure iPhone / iPad so that emails will be deleted on the server?

If you configure the email client via IMAP connection all emails deleted on Mail App will be deleted on the server as soon as you close Mail App. Therefore, if you are using the IMAP protocol, this article does not concern you. If you are using pop3, you can limit retention on the server.

  1. Unlock your iPhone / iPad and go to ‘Settings’Settings
  2. Follow ‘Mail, Contacts, Calendars’Follow ‘Mail, Contacts, Calendars’
  3. Enter the account you would like to editEnter the account you would like to edit
  4. Scroll all the way down and tap on ‘Advanced’Tap on 'Advanced'
    1. In the ‘Deleted Messages’ section choose to Remove ‘After one day’.Deleted messages > After one day
    2. OPTIONAL: You could opt to move deleted messages to an archive folder instead of deleting them.Move discarded messages into > Archive Mailbox
  5. Tap on the Back arrow at the upper left. Then on the upper right tap on ‘Done’. Your settings are now saved.Tap on the Back arrow at the upper leftThen on the upper right tap on 'Done'
Updated on 27 February 2020

Was this article helpful?

Need support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact support

Couldn't find a solution?

support_bottom_contact_alt

Our specialists are available 24/7 to provide you with free support. Feel free to contact Joachim and his colleagues via e-mail or by phone.

support_bottom_contact_alt
Joachim Coessens Specialist Support