How can I configure Thunderbird so that emails will be deleted on the server?

If you configure the email client via IMAP connection all emails deleted on Thunderbird will be deleted on the server as soon as you close Thunderbird. Therefore, if you are using the IMAP protocol, this article does not concern you. If you are using pop3, you can limit retention on the server.

Is your mailbox already full? Then first delete redundant emails via webmail

Follow these steps in Thunderbird

  1. Follow right click on your email address to your left.
  2. Choose ‘Settings’.
    Right click on email address > settings
    Account settings
  3. Click on ‘Server Settings’ from the menu to your left.Server settings
  4. Customize the ‘Leave Messages On Server’ option.Leave messages on server
  5. Click on ‘OK’.
Updated on 27 February 2020

Was this article helpful?

Need support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact support

Couldn't find a solution?

support_bottom_contact_alt

Our specialists are available 24/7 to provide you with free support. Feel free to contact Joachim and his colleagues via e-mail or by phone.

support_bottom_contact_alt
Joachim Coessens Specialist Support